We Love Bujutsu

We’re a bold bunch of dedicated people,
thrilled to study classical Japanese martial arts.

Nihon Jūjutsu (translates as Japanese Jūjutsu, 柔術, also pronounced as Yawara) is the study of unarmed fighting and self-defense, including punches, strikes, locks and throws. Participants also study rolling and fall breaking.

The Suigetsujuku school of  Nihon Jūjutsu, headed by Shihan Jun Osano in Japan, teaches techniques from nine different traditional martial arts schools (Ryû), including Kashima Shin Ryu, Asayama Ichiden Ryu, Tenshin Shinto Ryu, and Shibukawa Ichi-ryu Jujutsu.


Photo taken during keiko (training) in Japan.

If you are interested in learning Japanese Jūjutsu, why not book a trial lesson? You will get dedicated instruction from our head instructor and/or one of the advanced students to experience Nihon Jūjutsu first hand! Trial lessons are free and booked using our booking form.

E-mail address


Phone Number

(306) 400-9696

Training Location

Pre-Cam Gym, La Ronge

Start Learning Nihon Jujutsu

... FREE First Session!


Nihon Jūjutsu

Japanese Jūjutsu (Nihon Jūjutsu) is thought to be battlefield combat and self-defense system that was used by the ancient Samurai. It consists of throws, joint locks, striking, as well as the use of small handheld weapons such as sticks and rope. Japanese Jūjutsu is also the predecessor to modern-day Judo, a competition version of Japanese Jūjutsu with many of the more dangerous techniques left out. Most Japanese Jūjutsu schools do not accentuate sparring. Instead, the focus is on practicing techniques in a predefined sequence known as “Kata”. Japanese Jūjutsu is what we teach at our school, and it is also known as Yawara in Japan.

"I love traditional Japanese martial arts, they are exactly what they appear to be. They never change and never disappoint. There is a purity in them that I have not found in anything else. These martial art techniques left to us from long ago are like concentrated crystals of beauty. It would be shameful to let them go to waste. We must study hard, interpret them the right way, and create meaning for each skill to ensure the future generation can continue to enjoy them."

- Dr. Chris de Feijter, Head Instructor.